A Few Cheeky Cocktails Will Be Very Nice!

Too many of these in Camilla's office!!

Too many of these in Camilla’s office!! (Photo by http://www.bakonw.co.uk)

11 November 2014

S – I am working at the hospital today and they have a good poster in the office – it reads: “I don’t mind coming to work, but that eight hour wait to go home is nonsense”.

C – sentiments I agree with. I managed to get in at 0750 this morning so am pretty chuffed and Phoebe is working after school on some English she needs to catch up on; why I ask myself when she has so much time to do bugger all.

S – you got in at 0750 – you will have so much flexi you will be able to have a month off. I wish I could accumulate flexi – I can amass a bit of toil but not that much. Let me know when recruitment starts again – would be so good if we were both working over there!!! My two also staying after school catching up – when they have spent so much time at home doing nothing – how does that work?

C – will keep ear to ground re job. I had a laugh via e-mail with Julia yesterday; I passed her coming back from Weymouth on Sunday afternoon. She was cycling up Coombe Valley Road with her hat placed at an unfortunate angle on her head. I was thinking, as I passed, what sort of maniac does that and then I realised it was Julia! However, as I sit here typing this e-mail I can feel the bulge hanging over my trousers and really think I must stop eating and drinking and join Julia on a bike ride. Aghaghagh!!!!

Later …

C – the lady who is training me is not in today. I need to process a grant payment but I am struggling. The notes on processing the payment are not helping me and nobody else knows how this payment system works, so I am buggered well and truly. I forgot about the one minute silence; nobody told me it would be happening in the office. I was aware it was quiet but was engrossed in payments system. I looked up and suddenly realised everyone was standing and not working; I felt so terrible as I think it is such an important gesture – I feel very stupid and rude.

S – don’t worry – I am sure they will understand – we had the silence here.

C – I do hope so. On another note, I have accumulated 8 hours 20 minutes flexi so far already; a day and a bit. I can do a three day week sometime.

S – that is so much – you have only been there a few weeks. I definitely need to be working with you – am fed up with not having enough leave – worked all through the holidays when, in thoery, I could have accrued some flexi during term time. Do you clock in and clock out?

C – yes, electronically on my PC. I can use some of it to go to the estate agent’s Christmas Lunch; looking forward to our little trip on the train, it will be a real day out. Can’t remember where we are going to eat. I have a memory like a bloody sieve – must be my age.

S – I can’t remember either but have written it in diary so will let you know. Michael may still not be able to drive after his operation – if he can’t I will drive and you can fill your boots with the cheeky cocktails!!

C – no problem, I will make Toby pick us up, it won’t kill him to. Cream cakes have just arrived in the office as is someone’s birthday; of course I will have to indulge or is that bulge!!!!

S – it is definitely bulge!!!

Leave a Reply

